You know there is a reason why I don’t like my birthdays. I mean, there are a lot of reasons, but I’ve figured out at least one reason that makes me dislike the day. And the reason is the shallowness of it all.

For me, it’s better to have not wished someone on their birthdays, than do it out of formality. And if you have to wish someone, you’d rather choose the most personal medium for it, depending on the closeness you share with the person.

This is how the preferred order of wishes looks to me:

In person > Phone call > Text > E-mail/ FB Inbox/ Twitter DM > FB Wall post > Twitter Timeline

And I totally end up judging people based on what medium they use for wishing me. Argh, spoils it for me, but I just cannot help it. So, if you have my number, but still used fb to wish me, I’ll judge you. Similarly, if you have my e-mail id, and still chose to tweet to me, something’s not right.

However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t feel happy to see those wishes, it just makes me think that you have done it out of formality, and not as a gesture to reach out.

 

Anyway, the day is over for good. Now, peace for the next 363 days at least. Hopefully.

 

