I was having a bad day. In the middle of the best phase in my life.

Talking to people could not make it right. Neither could comfort food. Nor the comfort music.

When the heights of exasperation were achieved, I said this on twitter:

On days like this, I just wish my dog was here. I’d hug him tight, and I *know* all would be well with my world. *sigh*

Walking on the roads of this big big city, wanting to get lost in the crowds, I was trying desperately to drown the noises in my head. Before I could understand the stimulus, my reflexes pushed me to jump. I jumped. But in excitement. There was a puppy licking my feet, wagging his tail happily. I was ecstatic. He appeared out of nowhere, as if sent by the universe just for me. I spent the next half an hour playing with him. My phone rang, and before I could even get distracted, the pup disappeared. Like, D.I.S.A.P.P.E.A.R.E.D.

I walked ahead. Walked some more. Out of nowhere, a labrador just came in front , and hugged me tight. It took me a good 3 seconds to register what was actually happening. I could not believe my luck. The dog was a sweet-heart. He did not let me go, and I was happy being in that embrace. He tugged at me as if we were long-lost friends. I talked to him, he listened to me. I cried. He was still there. He made me laugh. In a way I hadn’t. In a long long time. And he disappeared.

For the first ten minutes, I tried to make sense of the situation. Then, I did not. Everything doesn’t make sense, and it’s alright if it doesn’t. Sometimes, it’s good to take things as they come. I generally don’t do that, but at that moment, it was important for me to relish the episode than to try and rationalise the whole thing.

The Universe Listens. Confirmed.

P.S. – I’m wandering in the streets as I type this post, and just guess what happened? Yes. I met *yet* another dog. Who came to me and hugged me tight. My day is made. The Force Is Indeed With Me. Even if just for today. Or this moment. Thank you Universe!

