From the moment I took up this job, I knew it was going to be a roller-coaster ride, throwing in many many surprises, but yesterday’s just took the cake! It was a day of admitting new students in schools, and in 5 of them, my boss was to be the chief guest. And as he would have it, me and Mihir accompanied him. Mihir got busy in clicking pictures, and I was asked to accompany boss on stage. It was an embarrassing affair, to say the least. Till now, I have seen the world being on the other side, but I got to experience it as an insider yesterday!

The part-playing was not limited to just being on the stage. Along with other people present on stage, I would be given flowers at each school, my name being called upon in a fashion that would embarrass me to no end. It was not embarrassing because it was funny, but it was so because I knew that I am not such a big and deserving person that they are mistaking me to be. I was asked to distribute kits to little kids too, as were the other people on stage! Sensing my discomfort, my boss let a pearl of wisdom slide down his hands into mine. He said, these people know only to respect you, and in this fashion, not because of who you are as a person, but because who you are as a professional. The people know that you are coming from HQs and moreover, you are sitting beside the Commissioner. So, it’s obvious on their part to treat you in the manner like this. I understood that, but still, it was an overwhelming experience being there, doing that!

At the end of the day, when I was back in my usual life, I could help but think, the larger-than-life picture we paint about guests and chief guests in our own minds, is it anywhere close to reality? I still get awestruck by big personalities, and I still feel a chill go down my spine whenever I hear them speak – but then I know now, after having experienced the guest-hood for a day, that it’s just a part of the job. And as my boss said, people get used to it. For those, who have been doing it for years, it doesn’t really matter. It’s all ordinary. And for newbies like me, it’s a lifetime of an experience, which one can not get over easily!

